MUSIC

The music program at Canterbury Girls' Secondary College is a vibrant one offering a wide range of learning and performance opportunities to all students. The program boasts three large concert bands, two string orchestras, a symphony orchestra, stage band, rock bands, guitar ensemble, Klezmer ensemble and many smaller chamber groups. The College has a strong tradition in choral work ranging from whole school events such as the House Choral Festival to the choirs including the award winning Canterbury Chorale. All of our ensembles perform regularly at school events and also in the broader community. Our annual Music Night showcases the talents of our young musicians.

Instrumental tuition is available in all woodwind, brass, string and percussion and also vocal and guitar. Students who learn away from the College are welcome to participate in our ensemble performance program.

The music program is strongly supported by an extensive classroom program. Students undertake compulsory music studies in junior years and in Year 9 and 10, students may elect from a range of programs including Music Technology and Music Theatre.

Further information is available by contacting the Music Office directly on 9831-8625.

Events

 

TERM 3  

 

House Dance Drama tickets 

CLICK HERE to purchase 

  

Wednesday 19 September

House Dance Drama Performance Evening 1 – 7.30pm

 

Thursday 20 September

House Dance Drama Performance Evening 2 – 7.30pm

 

Friday 21 September

House Dance Drama - Adjudication Day

 

Last Day of Term 3

Students dismissed at 2.30pm


TERM 4

Monday 8 October

First day of Term 4

 

Sunday 21 October

Spring Music Breakfast

 

Tuesday 23 October

Valedictory Dinner

 

Thursday 25 October

VCE Art Show 6.00-8.00pm

 

Saturday 27 October

Working Bee

 

Monday 5 November

Year 11 Study Day

Curriculum Day

Students are not required at school

 

Tuesday 6 November

Melbourne Cup Day

public holiday

 

Monday 3 December

Canterbury Celebrates

 

Friday 21 December

End of Term 4

 

Our Calendar

September 2018
M T W T F S S
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Public Tender

2019 Student Notebook Program supplier

Closes 4.00pm, 1 October 2018
 
© 2017 Canterbury Girls' Secondary College
CRICOS Provider Code: 00861K